Our board

Chair – Hannah Martin


As a journalist turned communications adviser, Hannah has worked in and with the media for more than a decade. She moved to Tasmania in 2009 and fell for its unique destinations, first class produce and vibrant characters. Hannah kicked off her career as a reporter in Queensland’s wild west before working her way into the metropolitan newsroom of Queensland’s largest paper. She was then charged with running their Sunshine Coast bureau office. She was Deputy Editor at Tasmanian Life Magazine before joining the editorial team at the Mercury newspaper in 2010. After a brief stint as an adviser to Tasmanian Premier Will Hodgman, Hannah has spent the last two years as a communications adviser to Federal Group. She develops communications and engagement strategies that support business objectives; increasing awareness of Federal Group among employees and the community, as well as media and government stakeholders.

Hannah and her family are excitedly making plans for a home and self-sufficient life on five acres in Richmond.

Treasurer – Genevieve Koning

Having been recently elected as a new Sprout board member - Genevieve's bio is coming soon!

Public Officer - Alistair Primrose


Alistair is Scottish born, and came to Tasmania in 1977 intending to stay for 2 years in a teaching position, and never left. Alistair has worked in the education sector in many capacities including curriculum development on both state and national levels, teaching, training and management. Alistair has a Grad Dip in Agriculture and Horticulture as well as sustainability and dairy farming certificates. Alistair has been a board member of the Carpet Wool Breeders Association of Tas, National Executive of Australian Agriculture Educators Association and National Technology Federation of Australia and brings with him great experience. On a personal level, Alistair is passionate about sustainability, food preservation, organic gardening, alternative energy and bushwalking.

Secretary - Rob Batten


Rob Batten is the principal of Batten Media and owns Camden Farm at Orielton in southern Tasmania. Working with his family he produces wool, prime lambs and grain and has just put thirty hectares under irrigation.

Rob has been a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors since 2005 after gaining initial experience as a Director of the Tasmania Symphony Orchestra. He was also a Director of TQA Australia for five years.
Since 2010 Rob has been the Program Director of the media development project in Papua New Guinea managed by the Australian Broadcasting Corporation. Previously he has provided advice and training to media organisations in Thailand, Vietnam, Samoa, Vanuatu and Solomon Islands.

Rob has held a wide range of positions with the ABC. After joining in 1971 as a specialist rural broadcaster, Rob gained extensive experience as a reporter, producer and presenter on a range of radio and television programs.
Rob’s analytical and strategic skills were utilised by the ABC to review major issues such as coverage of the bushfires that devastated Victoria in 2009. He has held several senior positions in national and state management, led major capital projects such as the ABC Broadcast Centre in Melbourne and undertaken reviews of significant editorial issues as the ABC Ombudsman. He ‘retired’ as State Director Tasmania in 2010. 

Board Member - Amanda Woollams

Amanda is a happily born and bred Tasmanian. Originally from Hobart, Amanda now resides in the Tamar Valley in northern Tasmania. Amanda has qualifications and extensive experience in Agricultural Science, Food Manufacturing and Law and has spent the last 20 plus years working within and with various companies. She specialises in support with and advice on, quality and certification systems in food production, regulatory labelling advice for domestic and international food development and product development particularly in the infant and children foods and nutritional products sector. She has worked around the world with many passionate and ethical companies.
On a personal side Amanda loves to cook and enjoy Tasmanian wines. She loves the amazing quality produce found in Tasmania and especially loves sharing her knowledge of quality food and nutrition with her two daughters and partner. She hopes to be a valued member of the Sprout community and looks forward to providing her expertise and passion where needed.

 Board Member - Deanne de Leeuw


Having been recently elected as a new Sprout board member - Deanne's bio is coming soon!

Board Member - Barbara Cox


Barbara has more than 25 years’ experience as a successful communications manager and media specialist. Her public relations expertise crosses corporate, government, membership and not-for-profit organisations across Australia.

Tassie born and bred, Barb is a familiar face from many years presenting ABC news. After five years living and working in Brisbane, the Cox family was lured home to rejoin Tasmania’s thriving community. Barb is a passionate supporter of the local food and wine sectors – largely, as a consumer!

Board member - Michaela Lamprey

Having been recently elected as a new Sprout board member - Michaela's bio is coming soon!

Board member - Simon Stubbs

Having been recently elected as a new Sprout board member - Simon's bio is coming soon!

Tony Scherer, Co-Founder of Sprout also sits on the Board as President.


We would like to thank our past Board Members, who have contributed to where Sprout is today:

Alice Percy

Ian Locke

Tanya Dalton

Natalia Urosevic

Luke Burgess

Nick Haddow

Emma Terry

Joanne Smith

Courtney Drew

Cameron Johns